Martin Roth Symposium

MuseumFutures – Save the Date

ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) will present the second Martin Roth Symposium from 10 to 11 September 2020 in the Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin.

Museums offer public spaces for encounters between people and ideas. If cultural products belong to the whole of humankind and if participation and inclusion are the means of lively communities, how might the museums of the future be built as spaces of polyphonic and critical dialogues under globalised conditions? How can these dialogues refer to our pasts and futures? How might they serve cultural democracy for all, while challenged by increasing anti-liberal tensions worldwide. And is it even possible to see the museum in a radically democratic light, as many artists and curators are demanding today?

This year’s two-day symposium asks critical questions about the museum’s future. It intends to identify innovative strategies which, from a global perspective, are needed to establish a space of democracy through architecture, analogue and virtual formats, local and international exchange, and alternative international (art) histories. Over two days, top international experts from these sectors will unpack and bring to light challenges and visions in the fields of museum and culture.

The symposium honours and commemorates the legacy of one of Germany’s most innovative museum directors and cultural policy makers: Martin Roth. Following its first issue in 2018, What can culture do?, the Martin Roth Symposium aims to biennially bring together thought leaders from the cultural, academic, artistic and political sectors to share ideas and future scenarios close to Roth’s own innovative convictions.

Programme


Thursday 10 September 2020

  • Panel 1: Opening Panel
  • Panel 2: Museums and Architecture


Friday 11 September 2020

  • Panel 3: Museums and Power
  • Panel 4: Museums and Failure
  • Panel 5: Museums and Entertainment

Review 2018

The Martin Roth Symposium in the Kraftwerk Berlin

Founded in 2018, the Martin Roth Symposium, named after one of the most notable museum directors, aims to honour his groundbraking achievements on behalf of the developement of cultural and social topics by perpetuating his ideas.

The opening symposium put the question, "What can culture do?". To give an answer, 44 international society and culture experts ressembled in the Kraftwerk Berlin to face more than 300 vistors, followed by inspiring and lively discussions with the audience.

Pictures and impressions of the conference | 2018

Statements, impressions and opinions | 2018

Location

Museum für Naturkunde
Invalidenstr. 43
10115 Berlin

Martin Roth

‘I am convinced, that art and culture represent an indispensible foundation
of a society of democratic and peaceful coexistence.’

  • About

    As director general Martin Roth (1955-2017) did make his impression not only on the Dresden State Art Collections, but the international museum scene as well. Thus, as recognition for his outstanding cultural achievements he was invested with the order of knights respectively by France and Denmark. After his ten years’ stay in Dresden he was appointed as director of the Victoria and Albert Museum, London. There he lead the museum into a new era by opening the museum not only literally by the new Exhibition Road entrance he had added but also figuratively by daring to search for new ways to attract a broader audience and rethink the role museums can play in society. In 2016 after having returned from London he was unanimously elected honorary president of ifa.

    In honour of his accomplishments as museum director and cultural scientist and in remembrance of his great personality, the Federal Foreign Office of Germany instituted the Martin Roth Initiative  to enable creative artists and cultural mediators, who are repressed in their home countries a stay abroad to proceed their artistic and cultural work. Likewise, in 2018, the Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden started a series of lectures, named after their former director general, Martin Roth Lecture. Since then the biennial conference, the Martin Roth Symposium, has been launched by ifa and the Federal Foreign Office.


Contact

Rainer Koch

Charlottenplatz 17
D-70173 Stuttgart

Logo of the Federal Foreign Office, © Federal Foreign Office
Funded by the Federal Foreign Office

Martin Roth Symposium

MuseumFutures – Save the Date!

Die zweite Ausgabe des Martin Roth Symposiums findet vom 10. bis 11. September 2020 im Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin statt.

Die Begegnung von Menschen und Ideen definiert das Museum als öffentlichen Raum. Wie können Museen der Zukunft als Räume vielstimmiger und kritischer Dialoge unter globalisierten Bedingungen konzipiert werden, wenn man voraussetzt, dass kulturelle Artefakte der gesamten Menschheit gehören und Teilhabe und Inklusion integrale Bestandteile lebendiger Gemeinschaften sind? Wie werden historische und zukünftige Entwicklungen in diese Dialoge mit eingebunden? Welchen Beitrag können sie in Zeiten wachsender und  antiliberaler Tendenzen weltweit leisten, um eine demokratische Kultur zu etablieren? Und ist es überhaupt möglich, das Museum in einem radikal demokratischen Licht zu sehen, wie es viele Künstler und Künstlerinnen und Kuratoren und Kuratorinnen heute fordern?

Das diesjährige zweitägige Symposium stellt kritische Fragen zur Zukunft des Museums. Unter Berücksichtigung der Architektur, analoger und virtueller Dialogformate, integrierter Info- und Entertainmentkonzepte sowie alternativer internationaler (Kunst-)Geschichten sollen aus globaler Perspektive innovative Strategien identifiziert und formuliert werden, um einen musealen demokratischen Raum zu skizzieren. Zwei Tage lang beleuchten internationale Fachleute die Herausforderungen und Visionen für Museen und Kultur im 21. Jahrhundert.

Das Symposium ehrt und erinnert an das Vermächtnis eines der innovativsten Museumsdirektoren und Kulturpolitiker Deutschlands: Martin Roth. Nach der Premiere im Jahr 2018 mit "What can culture do ?" ist es Ziel des Martin-Roth-Symposiums,  alle zwei Jahre Vordenker und Vordenkerinnen aus Kultur, Wissenschaft, Kunst und Politik zusammenbringen, um gemeinsam Ideen und Zukunftsszenarien zu entwickeln, die von den innovativen Überzeugungen Martin Roths inspiriert werden.

Programm


Donnerstag 10.09.2020

  • Panel 1: Eröffnung
  • Panel 2: Museen und Architektur


Freitag 11.09.2020

  • Panel 3: Museen und Macht
  • Panel 4: Museen und Misserfolge
  • Panel 5: Museen und Unterhaltung

Rückblick 2018

Das Martin Roth Symposium im Kraftwerk Berlin

Das Martin Roth Symposium wurde 2018 gegründet, um die Impulse und wegweisenden kulturellen, gesellschaftlichen und politischen Innovationen, die Martin Roth, als einer der weltweit bedeutendsten Museumsdirektoren auf den Weg gebracht hat, weiter zu führen.

Auf der Premierenveranstaltung "What can culture do?" diskutierten mehr als 300 Besucherinnen und Besucher im Kraftwerk Berlin mit den 44 Expertinnen und Experten über Kultur als aktive, gestaltende Kraft und eine Verbindung zwischen den verschiedenen Gesellschaften.

Impressionen der Konferenz | 2018

Statements, impressions and opinions | 2018

Anfahrt

Museum für Naturkunde
Invalidenstr. 43
10115 Berlin

Martin Roth

„Ich bin überzeugt, dass Kunst und Kultur unverzichtbare Grundlagen einer
Gesellschaft im demokratischen und friedlichen Zusammenleben sind.“

  • Zur Person

    Als Generaldirektor prägte Martin Roth (1955-2017) nicht nur die Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden, sondern beeinflusste mit seiner innovativen Herangehensweise die internationale Museumslandschaft. Für seine kulturellen Verdienste verliehen ihm der französische und der dänische Staat jeweils das Ritterkreuz. Nach zehnjährigem Wirken in Dresden wechselte Roth 2011 an das Victoria and Albert Museum, London. Dort überführte er das Museum in eine neue Ära, indem er es für die gesamte Gesellschaft öffnete und seine Vision, von einem Museum als Ort des kulturellen Austauschs, für Bildung und Demokratie, etablierte. Nach seiner Rückkehr aus London wurde er 2016 zum ehrenamtlichen Präsidenten des Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen gewählt.

    Um seine Arbeit als Museumsdirektor und Kulturwissenschaftler, sowie seine herausragende Persönlichkeit zu würdigen, wurde 2018 die Martin Roth Initiative  vom Auswärtigen Amt gegründet, um Kunstschaffenden aller Länder, die in ihrer Heimat verfolgt werden, Schutzaufenthalte zu ermöglichen. Die Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden ehren ihren Ehemaligen Generaldirektor mit einer Vortragsreihe, der Martin Roth Lecture. Ebenfalls seit 2018 findet das im Zweijahresrhythmus stattfindende Martin Roth Symposium in Berlin statt, das vom ifa und dem Auswärtigen Amt ausgetragen wird.


Kontakt

Rainer Koch

Charlottenplatz 17
D-70173 Stuttgart

Logo des Auswärtigen Amts, © Auswärtiges Amt
Gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt