WIKA

In 2004 ifa founded the Academic Council on Culture and Foreign Policy, which addresses theoretical and practical issues of international cultural exchange. Its aim is to scientifically support Germany’s Foreign Cultural and Educational Policy in its international relationship structure, to develop concepts and to more strongly anchor AKBP issues in research and practice.

Scholars, students or private individuals as well as institutes, research facilities, think tanks and intermediary organisations which in theory and/or in practice address issues of foreign cultural and educational policy can become members of WIKA. Membership is free. Since 2005 numerous WIKA workshops addressing AKBP issues have been organised in cooperation with universities and research facilities. These workshops are intended as a forum for dialogue between scientists from various disciplines and practitioners at the interface of cultural and foreign policy. The WIKA workshops have been held in English since 2018, the results of which are recorded in the WIKA report.

The promotion of young scientists is particularly important. In so doing, they are, for example, integrated into the interdisciplinary discourse in WIKA colloquia and networked with contacts in the field of international cultural exchange.

Contact

Kirsten Mörixbauer

Charlottenplatz 17
D-70173 Stuttgart

Telephone: +49.711.2225.181

WIKA

Der Wissenschaftliche Initiativkreis Kultur und Außenpolitik – kurz WIKA – wurde 2004 vom ifa gegründet. Er beschäftigt sich mit Theorie und Praxis des internationalen Kulturaustauschs. Sein Ziel ist es, die Auswärtige Kultur- und Bildungspolitik (AKBP) Deutschlands in ihrem internationalen Beziehungsgefüge wissenschaftlich zu begleiten, Konzepte zu entwickeln und das Thema AKBP stärker in Forschung und Lehre zu verankern.

Die Mitgliedschaft ist kostenfrei und steht allen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, Studierenden oder Privatpersonen sowie Instituten, Forschungseinrichtungen, Think-Tanks und Mittlerorganisationen offen, die sich in Theorie oder Praxis mit Themen der internationalen Kulturbeziehungen auseinandersetzen. Seit 2005 werden in Kooperation mit Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen zahlreiche WIKA-Workshops zu AKBP-Themen veranstaltet. Diese Workshops verstehen sich als Forum für den Dialog zwischen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus verschiedenen Disziplinen und Praktikerinnen sowie Praktikern an der Schnittstelle von Kultur- und Außenpolitik. Seit 2018 finden die WIKA-Workshops in englischer Sprache statt, die Ergebnisse werden im WIKA-Report festgehalten.

Ein besonderes Anliegen ist die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. Dieser soll beispielsweise in WIKA-Kolloquien in den interdisziplinären Diskurs eingebunden und mit Kontakten im Praxisfeld des internationalen Kulturaustauschs vernetzt werden.

Kontakt

Kirsten Mörixbauer

Charlottenplatz 17
D-70173 Stuttgart

Telefon: +49.711.2225.181