Tunisia88

Music for Impact

The project 'Tunisia88 – Music for Impact' is based on two principles: That music is dialogue and exchange, and that young people play a central role in the processes of democratisation. For these reasons, the music project is a unique opportunity for introducing young people to civil society engagement.

Giving concerts throughout Tunisia, young musicians are interpreting traditional Tunisian and international pieces alongside their own works. In so doing, they are occasionally accompanied by renowned artists. With the foundation of extracurricular music clubs in all 24 governorates of Tunisia, a space has opened up to schoolchildren where they can be creative and learn to independently pursue their own goals.

Extracurricular Music Clubs

As a band, choir, soloist or as an orchestra – young people organise their own local music events through extracurricular music clubs. They also present their own pieces in song writing competitions. By singing with national and international choirs, they meet other musicians and gain experience by performing abroad. With the support of a mentor, the schoolchildren lead the music clubs according to democratic principles, and by making music and coordinating together, they learn to act responsibility and independently as well as cooperatively.
At nationwide training courses and events, schoolchildren can network with others across the country, becoming part of a community in which connections are emphasized and differences are respected. In this way, they are prepared and motivated to participate actively in society.

Involvement at the State Level

'Tunisia88 – Music for Impact' is under the patronage of the President of the Republic of Tunisia. Through a cooperation agreement with the Ministry of Education, the project is integrated into existing state structures, leading to its broad acceptance among parents and in schools. In the long term, the project is expected to be integrated into school curriculum. Plus, by strengthening these participatory approaches, the school system is supported in its modernisation efforts.     

The 88 Keys of a Piano

The project began in the autumn of 2015. The number 88 in the project’s name represents the number of keys on a piano. Thereby, a total of 88 concerts throughout Tunisia was organised in the first phase. Since then, for the founding events of the music clubs, a piano has been driven from one school to the next.

Participating Contributors

ifa’s partners include Action et Développement Solidaire in Tunisia and 88 International in the United States of America. Together, these organisations make this project possible by organising the music clubs’ founding events, training courses, regional, national and international concerts, events and competitions as well as by distributing musical instruments to schools.

Since July 2019, ifa has been supporting the project with funding from the German Federal Foreign Office.

Contact

Gabriele Kuschmierz

Charlottenplatz 17
D-70173 Stuttgart

Telephone: +49.711.2225.199

Tunisia88

Music for Impact

Das Projekt „Tunisia88 – Music for Impact“ geht von den beiden Grundsätzen aus, dass Musik Dialog und Austausch ist und Jugendliche eine zentrale Rolle für Demokratisierungsprozesse spielen. Daher sollen junge Menschen bei dem Projekt über Musik an zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement herangeführt werden.

Bei Konzerten in ganz Tunesien interpretieren sie traditionelle tunesische, internationale und eigene Werke. Dabei werden sie zum Teil von renommierten Künstlerinnen und Künstlern unterstützt. Die Gründung von außerschulischen Musikclubs in allen 24 Regierungsbezirken des Landes eröffnet den Schülerinnen und Schülern zudem einen Raum, in dem sie kreativ sein können und lernen, selbstständig eigene Ziele zu verfolgen.

Außerschulische Musikclubs

Ob als Band, Chor, Solistin oder Solist, oder Orchester – über außerschulische Musikclubs organisieren Jugendliche eigene Musikveranstaltungen vor Ort. Ihre eigenen Stücke präsentieren sie bei Songwriting-Wettbewerben. Durch das Mitsingen in nationalen und internationalen Chören lernen sie andere Musizierende kennen und können Erfahrungen bei Auftritten im Ausland sammeln. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler leiten die Musikclubs nach demokratischen Prinzipien mit Unterstützung durch eine Mentorin oder einen Mentoren. Durch das gemeinsame Musizieren und Organisieren lernen sie, eigenverantwortlich und gemeinschaftlich zu handeln.
Bei überregionalen Fortbildungen und Veranstaltungen vernetzen sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler zudem landesweit und werden Teil einer Gemeinschaft, in der das Verbindende betont und Unterschiede respektiert werden. Dadurch sollen sie für eine aktive Beteiligung in der Gesellschaft vorbereitet und motiviert werden.

Einbindung auf staatlicher Ebene

„Tunisia88 – Music for Impact“ steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Präsidenten der Tunesischen Republik. Durch ein Kooperationsabkommen mit dem Bildungsministerium wird das Projekt in bestehende staatliche Strukturen eingebunden, was zu einer breiten Akzeptanz bei Eltern und in den Schulen führt. Langfristig soll das Projekt in den Bildungsplan eingebunden werden. Durch die Stärkung von partizipativen Ansätzen sollen so auch Modernisierungsbestrebungen im Schulwesen unterstützt werden.

88 Tasten eines Klaviers

Begonnen wurde das Projekt im Herbst 2015. In der ersten Phase wurden insgesamt 88 Konzerte in allen Landesteilen Tunesiens organisiert. Ein Klavier wird seitdem für die Gründungsveranstaltungen der Musikclubs von einer Schule zur nächsten gefahren. Die Zahl 88 im Namen des Projektes steht für die Anzahl der Tasten eines Klaviers.

Mitwirkende

Die Partner des ifa sind die Vereine „Action et Développement Solidaire“ in Tunesien und „88 International“ in den USA. Gemeinsam führen die beiden Vereine das Projekt durch, organisieren die Gründungsveranstaltungen der Musikclubs, Fortbildungen, überregionale, nationale und internationale Konzerte sowie Veranstaltungen und Wettbewerbe und verteilen Musikinstrumente an die Schulen.

Das ifa fördert das Projekt seit Juli 2019 mit Mitteln aus dem Auswärtigen Amt.

Kontakt

Gabriele Kuschmierz

Charlottenplatz 17
D-70173 Stuttgart

Telefon: +49.711.2225.199