



INTERNATIONAL CULTURAL RELATIONS RESEARCH ALLIANCE STATEMENT OF INTENT

We the undersigned are committed to building a global research alliance for international cultural relations that provides a facility for sharing useful knowledge and a forum for debate between researchers, practitioners and policymakers.

We intend to play our part, individually and collectively, to develop a digital platform for knowledge sharing and to provide opportunities for digital and face-to-face dialogue and to encourage and support research relevant to international cultural relations.

It is acknowledged that there is great variation between members' access to resources and it is assumed that contributions to the alliance will vary accordingly. The minimum requirement for participation is a willingness to collaborate.

Agreed by the participants of the first global-network meeting of the International Cultural Relations Research Alliance

London, 19 November, 2019.

Dr Hannah Abdullah, CIDOB (Barcelona Centre for International Affairs), Spain

Prof Jeremy Ahearne, University of Warwick, UK

Mr Tomoki Akazawa, The Japan Foundation, Japan

Prof Oliver Bennett, The University of Warwick, UK

Prof Naren Chitty, Macquarie University, Australia

Prof Okaka Dokotum, Lira University, Uganda

Ms Özlem Ece, Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts, Turkey

Mr Ziad Erraiss, More Europe – external cultural relations, Belgium

Dr Carla Figueira, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK

Ms Silvia Finguerut, Fundação Getulio Vargas, Brazil

Ms Silja Fischer, Secretary General, International Music Council, France

Mr Pedro Affonso Ivo Franco, Furtwangen University, Germany

Ms Masayo Hasegawa, Japan Foundation, Japan/UK

Prof Pierangelo Isernia, CReW/University of Siena, Italy

Dr Lynda Jessup, North American Cultural Diplomacy Initiative, Canada

Ms Avril Joffe, Wits School of Arts in Johannesburg, South Africa

Dr HwaJung Kim, Ewha Womans University, Republic of Korea

Mr András Lőrincz, Institute for Cultural Relations Policy, Hungary

Prof Makarand R. Paranjape, Indian Institute of Advanced Study, India





Dr Eva Polonska-Kimunguyi, London School of Economics, UK Ms Susanna Seidl-Fox, Salzburg Global Seminar, Austria Mr Dan Shah, British Council, UK Mr Volodymyr Sheiko, Ukraine Institute, Ukraine Prof J.P. Singh, George Mason University, USA Dr Odila Triebel, Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, Germany Prof Yasushi Watanabe, Keio University, Japan Ms Gitte Zschoch, EU National Institutes for Culture, Belgium