Theodor Wanner Award

Since 2009, the ifa has given the Theodor Wanner Award to persons or organizations who, by virtue of their scientific, scholarly, social, socio-political, artistic, entrepreneurial or financial engagement, have made outstanding contributions to peace, international understanding and the dialogue of cultures.

The award goes back to the initiative of the Friends’ Association of the ifa. Patron of the Theodor Wanner Award is the Federal Foreign Minister. The award is named after Theodor Wanner (1875-1955), on whose initiative the German Foreign Institute (DAI), today the ifa, was founded in 1917.
The prize money in the amount of 10,000 euros will go directly to a cultural and peace-building project chosen by the award recipient. He or she will be honoured by being given a prize object. In co-operation with the Steidl publishing house, the ifa also publishes a portrait volume on each recipient
The award recipients are selected by majority decision of a jury formed by the board of the Friends’ Association and the ifa. The jury is free in its selection.

Jury members

  • Stephan Brübach, Director of Brand Management + Consortium Format Development Dr. Eckert and Chairman of the Friends’ Association for the ifa
  • Dr jur Bernt Graf zu Dohna, General Counsel (emeritus) the Robert Bosch GmbH, Vice President of the ifa
  • Ronald Grätz, Secretary General of ifa
  • Prof Dr Dr hc Jürgen Osterhammel, historian
  • Prof Dr Dr hc Ulrich Raulff, President of the ifa

Proposals may be submitted by members of the ifa, members of the Friends’ Association of ifa, the advisory councils and the staff of the ifa.

Past award recipients

2017: Queen Silvia of Sweden
Laudation: Sigmar Gabriel, Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs

2016: Human Rights Watch, Independent Non-Governmental Organisation
Laudation: Dr Bärbel Kofler, Federal Government Commissioner for Human Rights Policy and Humanitarian Aid

2014: Ernesto Cardenal, politician and theologian
Laudation: Prof Dr Norbert Lammert, President of the German Bundestag

2013: Yoko Ono, artist
Laudation: Dr Guido Westerwelle, Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs

2011: Dr hc Jacques Delors, former President of the European Commission
Laudation: Dr hc Hans-Dietrich Genscher, former Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs

2010: Carla del Ponte, jurist
Laudation: Prof Dr Dr hc mult Jutta Limbach, former President of the Federal Constitutional Court

2009: Dr hc Daniel Barenboim, conductor
Laudation: Dr hc Joschka Fischer, former Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs