European Union National Institutes for Culture (EUNIC)


EUNIC is a partnership of national institutions for culture, engaged beyond their national borders and operating with a degree of autonomy from their governments.

The 35 EUNIC members currently includes organisations from 28 EU countries, for Germany for example the Goethe Institute and the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations.

The purpose of EUNIC is

  • to create effective partnerships and networks between the participating organisations
  • to improve and promote cultural diversity and understanding between European societies
  • to strengthen international dialogue and cooperation with countries outside Europe

EUNIC operates at two complimentary levels:

  • The first level consists of the Heads or Directors General of the national institutions.
  • The second level comprises clusters of national institutions for culture, based in cities across the whole world, cooperating together in common projects.


European Union National Institutes for Culture
c/o British Council Information Centre
Bridgewater House
58 Whitworth Street
Manchester M1 6BB
United Kingdom
Phone: +44 (0)161 957 77 55


18 Rue Ravenstein
1000 Brussels
Phone: +32 (0) 2 640 81 58