Council of Europe


The Council of Europe was established in 1949 to develop common and democratic principles. The Council’s headquarters are situated in Hamburg, and today comprises of 47 member states from almost all of Europe’s countries.

The bases of the Council’s principles are the European Convention for Human Rights and other reference texts on the subject of protecting the individual. The aim of the Council of Europe is respect for fundamental human rights, democracy and rule of law.

With the European cultural agreement adopted on the 19th December 1954, the foundation was laid down for the European co-operation in the areas of culture, education and upbringing, youth and sport. The goal of the agreement is to support cultural collaboration, promote mutual understanding and knowledge between different European countries, and to understand their cultural heritage and regard it as an important part of a wider “European” heritage.

Further tasks and goals: 

Periodical Publications 

Intercultural cities newsletter

Council of Europe


Council of Europe
Avenue de l’Europe
67075 Strasbourg Cedex
Phone: +33 (0)3 88 41 20 00
Fax: +33(0)3 88 41 27 45